- Academic Search (EbscoHost)
Indexes and abstracts over 11,000 magazines and scholarly journals in all subject areas with over 7,000 in full text. Coverage dates vary.
- American National Biography
American National Biography offers portraits of men & women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the nation. Published in 24 volumes in 1999, the ANB is updated semi-annually online, with hundreds of new entries each year and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.
- Area Studies Video Online
Select “Area Studies” from the Disciplines list in the "VAST: Academic Video Online” collection.
Area Studies Video Online covers Middle Eastern studies, Latin American, African, Eastern European, Asian, and other global communities. The collection includes films focused on cultural, political, and socioeconomic issues and provides an interdisciplinary resource for every region of the world.
- Biography Collection Complete (EbscoHost)
A collection of full-text biographies from a wide variety of sources in history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas.
- Book Review Retrospective (1905-1982)
Cumulating the complete content of Book Review Digest from 1905-1982, this database provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, and most have at least two.
- Britannica Image Quest
Searchable database of digital images that allows access to more than one million rights-cleared images from over 40 of the best collections in the world, including: Action Plus, Photo Researchers, akg-images, Encyclopaedia Britannica, and more.
- Britannica Online
Consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of Encyclopedia Britannica and additional references, including Britannica's latest article database, Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary, and the Britannica book of the year. New resources are frequently added.
- CREDO Reference
Credo Reference provides an online reference collection of over 525 reference books. This collection includes various dictionaries and encyclopedias, as well as a broad range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art geography and law to technology.
- Current Affairs Video Online
Select “Current Affairs” from the Disciplines list in the "VAST: Academic Video Online” collection.
Streaming video documentaries on currents affairs.
Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other texts in a variety of subject areas. Ebrary allows for unlimited simultaneous users and therefore is a particularly convenient source for online class assignments.
- EBSCO eBook Collection
Provides the full-text of thousands recently-published books from selected academic and commercial publishers, as well as the full-text of a large number of older works in the public domain.
- Films on Demand
The Films on Demand master collection includes hundreds of streaming videos in anthropology, archival films & newsreels, area studies, art & architecture, biology, business & economics, communication, computers & technology, criminal justice, earth science, education, English & language arts, environmental science, geography, health & medicine, history, mathematics, music & dance, philosophy & religion, physical science, political science, psychology, sociology, and world languages.
- Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a multidisciplinary database of online encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Search across 1,550,235 documents or click on "Publication Search" to find e-books by title.
- Google Scholar
On-campus users at Rhode Island College see additional links in the right side column of Google Scholar search results which facilitate access to the library's full text articles. Off-campus, the same library links may be used by clicking on the gear icon in the upper right corner (next to "Sign In"). Select "Scholar Preferences" on the drop down menu, scroll down to "Library Links," then type in the box "Rhode Island College"
- Government Information Resources
Links to a rich array of government information websites, databases, agencies & departments and core public documents.
- Humanities Video Online
Select “Humanities” from the Disciplines list in the "VAST: Academic Video Online” collection.
A a multidisciplinary collection of films with a broad range of titles in the Humanities and Social Sciences, including biographies, documentaries, instructional films, interviews and performances.
RIC currently participates in nine JSTOR archive collections: Arts & Sciences I-VIII and X. Journals in archive collections are always included from volume 1 number 1, and related prior titles, but stop short of current issues. RIC also subscribes to 33 current journals in JSTOR. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
- LexisNexis Academic
Searchable access to full-text information including: National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepards Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Research strategies, subject guides, and useful resources compiled by Adams Library staff specifically for your RIC class or major, hot topic, academic skills, and more.
NetLibrarycontains a collection of eBooks purchased by the library. They may be browsed here or accessed individually via links from the HELIN catalog.
- New York Times,1851-2007 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The New York Times (1851-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
The Oxford DNB is a collection of over 56,000 specially written biographies of men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past. Updated three time per year with new material published every January, May and October.
- Oxford Index
The Oxford Index lets you search across digital reference works published by Oxford University Press. Full text links are available for Oxford publications accessible via Adams Library.
- Oxford Reference Online
A multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.
- Providence Journal Index (ProQuest)
Full-text of locally-written articles from 1984 to present can be searched, emailed, or downloaded from the Providence Journal Index. Selected pre-1986 articles have been indexed by the Providence Public Library for their Rhode Island Index file which may be consulted at the main library, 225 Washington St., Providence (455-8000).
- Readers Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Readers' Guide Retrospective, produced by The H. W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.
- Science Video Online
Select “Science” from the Disciplines list in the "VAST: Academic Video Online” collection.
A comprehensive streaming video resource for the study of scientific disciplines. The collection of films covers Environmental Studies, Natural History, and the Physical and Biological Sciences-- including Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Geology, Oceanography, Ecology, Astronomy, and Geography.
- VAST: Academic Video Online
VAST: Academic Video Online includes thousands of films (not clips) from dozens of producers and distributors in a wide range of subjects. VAST comprises collections in Area Studies, Art & Architecture, Black Studies, Business & Economics, Classical Music, Counseling & Therapy, Criminal Justice & Public Safety, Current Affairs, Dance, Education, Ethnic studies, Ethnography, Film Studies, Gay & Lesbian Studies, Health, History, Humanities, Opera, Politics & Current Affairs, Psychology, Rehabilitation Therapy, Religion & Philosophy, Science, Sports Medicine, Theatre, Women’s & Gender Studies, and World Languages & Literature.
- World Book Encyclopedias
Interactive encyclopedias for teachers and students of all ages. They contain all of the content available in the print versions, plus images, videos, primary source materials and more!
WorldCat is a worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.
NOTE: Rhode Island College no longer contributes all catalog records to the WorldCat database. Please consult the HELIN catalog to determine which materials are held at Adams Library.