This is the "Home" page of the "Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Special Collections  

Last Updated: Jun 12, 2013 URL: http://ric.libguides.com/specialcollections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Martha Bacon - Ronald Ballinger Reading Room

 

Teaset

 

Special Collections

The Special Collections Department of the James P. Adams Library was created in 1974. It was established in its present location on the fourth floor of the library in 1978. In 1982, the Martha Bacon-Ronald Ballinger Reading Room was dedicated, in honor of Professors Ronald Ballinger (history) and Martha Bacon Ballinger (English).

Most of the books in Special Collections are listed in the HELIN catalog. There are also papers, manuscripts, and collections of source materials on a variety of topics, including education, ethnic groups in Rhode Island, and socio-political publications.  Lists, registers, and other finding aids are available for locating materials in these collections.  Use of the materials in Special Collections is limited to the Martha Bacon-Ronald Ballinger Reading Room.

List of Special Collections

Special Collection Development Policy

 

College Archives

Special Collections includes the College Archives, a rich repository of the history, records, and memorabilia of Rhode Island College. Publications by faculty members are kept in Special Collections, as are copies of theses submitted for honors status or graduate degrees from the college.

College Archive Highlights

Special Collections Librarian

Profile Image
Marlene Lopes
Contact Info
401-456-9653
mlopes@ric.edu

Hours:
Mon-Fri: 9am-4pm
Saturdays by appointment

Emerging Technologies Librarian

Profile Image
Kieran Ayton
Contact Info
Adams Library 404
(401) 456-9604
(401) 456-9646 (Fax)
Email: kayton@ric.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip