Skip to main content
Banner Image

Collection Development and Acquisitions

The processes of selecting and purchasing material for the James P. Adams Library.

Freedom to Read

The right of intellectual freedom applies without exception to all library resources to which the Library provides access. The sole test of a controversial item will be its contribution, direct or indirect, to the academic program of the College and the informational needs of students.

The Library adheres to the principles of the American Library Association's Library Bill of Rights and the Freedom to Read Statement, a joint statement by the American Library Association and the Association of American Publishers.

Library Quick Links

Library Home
Clock icon Hours
ID Icon Card Activation
Magnifying Glass Icon Library Databases
Call Us: 401-456-8125
Text Us: 401-309-0590
Email Us
Facebook icon Facebook

 

About This Guide

This guide was originally created by Carla Weiss on 2010-11-12.

Collection Development Policy

The process of building the collections of books, non-book material, and electronic resources for the James P. Adams Library is described in its newly revised Collection Development Policy and Collection Development Policy for Special Collections. Included are procedures for both selection and de-selection of materials, examination of methods of acquisition, options for preservation, and evaluation of the collection to determine how well it serves user needs.

Requesting Materials for Library Purchase

Requests for new library materials

The Library welcomes requests for the purchase of new materials including books, journals, CDs, DVDs, electronic and non-print items that support the curriculum.   Items selected for purchase will be ordered when funds are available.  

  • Please check the HELIN catalog to see if the item is currently available in HELIN before submitting your request. 
  • Please use the online request form  or contact your Library Liaison to request materials to be added to the library's collections. 
  • Requests for journal subscriptions should be directed to Judith Stokes in the Periodicals Department . 
  • All purchases are made in accordance with the James P. Adams Library Collection Development Policy.

HELIN Catalog

Use the HELIN catalog to locate books, e-books, documents, videos, and other library materials at RIC and other HELIN libraries. Use the Request button to get books from other libraries sent to Adams Library for you to borrow.

Below is the search box for the Catalog to find books, e-books, videos, CDs and government documents.

Search Adams Library


Search the HELIN Catalog for Books, E-books, DVDs, CDs and more!
Search HELIN:
OR SEARCH BY:
Keyword | Author | Title | Subject

Can't find what you want? Try searching other RI Libraries.
Find Articles in Our Databases
(Off campus and dorm users will be asked to log in after you click "search")

Start with Academic Search:

 

View All Databases: A-Z List | By Subject
Journal Search:
Within:
Search Type:



SEARCH COURSE RESERVES

 
For Professor use last name, e.g "Smith, John"

For Course use abbreviation, e.g. "MUS 100"
           or full name, e.g. "Music Appreciation"
           or course name, e.g. "Zoology 201"
About Course Reserves | Request Form
Find Scholarly Articles with Google Scholar!
(Off campus and dorm users will be asked to log in after you click "search")

Google Scholar
(On right side of search results page, please click "Check RIC Library" links and [PDF] and [HTML] links to access entire articles.)
Loading

James P. Adams Library  ·  Rhode Island College  ·  600 Mount Pleasant Ave, Providence, RI 02908