Jump To: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | #
A
Academic Honesty (Board of College Discipline)
- Last Updated May 19, 2013
Faculty-focused guide developed to supplement Engaging Conversations: Honesty (May 19, 2010), plus a growing collection of professional ethics statements related to disciplines studied at Rhode Island College.
- Last Updated May 19, 2013
Faculty-focused guide developed to supplement Engaging Conversations: Honesty (May 19, 2010), plus a growing collection of professional ethics statements related to disciplines studied at Rhode Island College.
Academic Integrity: Being Truthful Is Essential to Academic Freedom
- Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
Plagiarism is not only dishonest, it is a disservice to the academic community because it erodes trust in the truth.
- Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
Plagiarism is not only dishonest, it is a disservice to the academic community because it erodes trust in the truth.
Access Services
- Last Updated Mar 6, 2013
Access Services provides access to the library facilities, its resources and its services, including borrowing.
- Last Updated Mar 6, 2013
Access Services provides access to the library facilities, its resources and its services, including borrowing.
African American History Month February 2010
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
The theme for African American History Month 2010 is "The History of Black Economic Empowerment". 2010 is the centennial of the National Urban League, a civil rights organization dedicated to economic empowerment.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
The theme for African American History Month 2010 is "The History of Black Economic Empowerment". 2010 is the centennial of the National Urban League, a civil rights organization dedicated to economic empowerment.
African Americans and the Civil War
- Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
The theme for African American History Month 2011 is "African Americans and the Civil War". 2011 is the 150th anniversary of the start of the Civil War. This guide will provide a starting point for research on this topic.
- Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
The theme for African American History Month 2011 is "African Americans and the Civil War". 2011 is the 150th anniversary of the start of the Civil War. This guide will provide a starting point for research on this topic.
ANTH 162: Middle East
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
An examination of ancient to modern cultures in the Middle east, focusing on the cultural, political, economic and social systems and their transformation over the past 5000 years
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
An examination of ancient to modern cultures in the Middle east, focusing on the cultural, political, economic and social systems and their transformation over the past 5000 years
ANTH 261: Intercultural Encounters: Tourists and their Hosts
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Global tourism has its consequences for both the tourists and for the cultures and societies that are their destinations.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Global tourism has its consequences for both the tourists and for the cultures and societies that are their destinations.
APA Format with MS Word
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
This guide will instruct users in APA. Focus areas will be on paper format, in-text citation, and using MS Word to format your paper.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
This guide will instruct users in APA. Focus areas will be on paper format, in-text citation, and using MS Word to format your paper.
Art 332: Renaissance Art
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
From the Black Death to the flowering of the Renaissance and Mannerism
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
From the Black Death to the flowering of the Renaissance and Mannerism
Art 461: Sex, Beauty, and Death: the Body in Art -- Professor Natasha Seaman
- Last Updated Oct 16, 2012
- Last Updated Oct 16, 2012
Art and Art History Resources
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
Useful databases and web resources for art and art history
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
Useful databases and web resources for art and art history
Art for Change: Can Art Change the World?
- Last Updated May 18, 2013
Inspired by JR's Ted talk on the Inside Out Project we pondered the question, "Could Art Change the World?" This guide has been designed to help you explore projects, most of them global, that aim to effect social change using art.
- Last Updated May 18, 2013
Inspired by JR's Ted talk on the Inside Out Project we pondered the question, "Could Art Change the World?" This guide has been designed to help you explore projects, most of them global, that aim to effect social change using art.
Art in the Library
- Last Updated Oct 12, 2012
The James P. Adams Library has several original works of art on permanent exhibit. This guide is intended to showcase the library's art collection and the artists whose works are on display.
- Last Updated Oct 12, 2012
The James P. Adams Library has several original works of art on permanent exhibit. This guide is intended to showcase the library's art collection and the artists whose works are on display.
ARTStor Users Guide
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Explains how to access, how to create slide presentations and how to use ArtStor.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Explains how to access, how to create slide presentations and how to use ArtStor.
Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month
- Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
May is Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month. This guide will provide basic research information on this topic.
- Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
May is Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month. This guide will provide basic research information on this topic.
B
Banned Books Week
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Banned Books Week: Celebrating the Freedom to Read September 30 to October 6, 2012
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Banned Books Week: Celebrating the Freedom to Read September 30 to October 6, 2012
Bearing Witness: Testimonies of Holocaust Survivors--21st Annual Exhibit Commemorating Yom HaShoah (May 2, 2011)
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Diaries, memoirs, & documented stories of Holocaust survivors from the collections of the James P. Adams Library. Accounts by or collected from adults, teenagers, and young children as well as sources for research and objects for reflection are included.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Diaries, memoirs, & documented stories of Holocaust survivors from the collections of the James P. Adams Library. Accounts by or collected from adults, teenagers, and young children as well as sources for research and objects for reflection are included.
Berlin Wall - 20 Years After the Fall
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
November 9, 2009 marks the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall. Erected in 1961, the wall symbolized the totalitarian Soviet regime.
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
November 9, 2009 marks the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall. Erected in 1961, the wall symbolized the totalitarian Soviet regime.
Biology 111 - Enzymes and Evolution
- Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Useful sources for Enzyme (Peroxidase) Lab and Research Paper on Evolutionary Thought
- Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Useful sources for Enzyme (Peroxidase) Lab and Research Paper on Evolutionary Thought
Biology 320 - Cell & Molecular Biology
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Some strategies for finding articles in the scientific research literature
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Some strategies for finding articles in the scientific research literature
Biology 460 - Biology Senior Seminar (Prof. Anthony)
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Although many avenues for accessing literature in the life sciences exist, this guide will emphasize techniques for identifying and analyzing recent note-worthy papers.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Although many avenues for accessing literature in the life sciences exist, this guide will emphasize techniques for identifying and analyzing recent note-worthy papers.
Black Women Writers
- Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
In honor of the 2012 Black History Month theme, "Black Women in American Culture and History", this guide features Black American women writers whose works are included in the collections of the James P. Adams Library.
- Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
In honor of the 2012 Black History Month theme, "Black Women in American Culture and History", this guide features Black American women writers whose works are included in the collections of the James P. Adams Library.
Blackboard Help for Faculty
- Last Updated Mar 2, 2013
This guide provides information to faculty on how to use library resources in their Blackboard courses . In addition, information on how to navigate and use Blackboard is provided.
- Last Updated Mar 2, 2013
This guide provides information to faculty on how to use library resources in their Blackboard courses . In addition, information on how to navigate and use Blackboard is provided.
Blackboard Help For Students
- Last Updated Mar 2, 2013
This libguide provides information to students on how to access library resources and services. In addition, information is provided on how to use Blackboard.
- Last Updated Mar 2, 2013
This libguide provides information to students on how to access library resources and services. In addition, information is provided on how to use Blackboard.
Bullying
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
Bullying is rooted in intolerance of our diversity. Differences in race, gender, nationality, sexual orientation, social class, and religion can create the perceived imbalance which spurs bullying. This guide will serve as a starting point for research.
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
Bullying is rooted in intolerance of our diversity. Differences in race, gender, nationality, sexual orientation, social class, and religion can create the perceived imbalance which spurs bullying. This guide will serve as a starting point for research.
C
Changing keyboard format to type in a foreign language
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
This guide tells you how to change keyboard format to type in any language using a Mac or Windows PC. If you're typing a paper in Spanish, Portuguese, German, or any other language this guide will really help.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
This guide tells you how to change keyboard format to type in any language using a Mac or Windows PC. If you're typing a paper in Spanish, Portuguese, German, or any other language this guide will really help.
Chinua Achebe
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
Chinua Achebe was a Nigerian novelist, poet, professor, and critic. He was best known for his first novel Things Fall Apart, which is the most widely read book in modern African literature. He passed away on March 21, 2013 at the age of 82.
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
Chinua Achebe was a Nigerian novelist, poet, professor, and critic. He was best known for his first novel Things Fall Apart, which is the most widely read book in modern African literature. He passed away on March 21, 2013 at the age of 82.
CIS 352: Management Information Systems
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Covers critical issues of Management Information Systems including strategic importance of information systems, the level of integration of IS with the business process, analysis of information flow, hardware, software, and more.
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Covers critical issues of Management Information Systems including strategic importance of information systems, the level of integration of IS with the business process, analysis of information flow, hardware, software, and more.
CIS 440: Issues in Computer Security
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Students evaluate organizational and technological methods employed to provide security for computer software, hardware, and data.
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Students evaluate organizational and technological methods employed to provide security for computer software, hardware, and data.
Citing Sources
- Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
How to cite sources using the different formats and how to create an annotated bibliography.
- Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
How to cite sources using the different formats and how to create an annotated bibliography.
Civil War Sesquicentennial
- Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
April 12, 2011 marks the 150th anniversary of the first shots fired in America's Civil War. This guide will provide information for basic research into the Civil War, and information about activities taking place to commemorate the sesquicentennial.
- Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
April 12, 2011 marks the 150th anniversary of the first shots fired in America's Civil War. This guide will provide information for basic research into the Civil War, and information about activities taking place to commemorate the sesquicentennial.
Collection Development and Acquisitions
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
The processes of selecting and purchasing material for the James P. Adams Library.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
The processes of selecting and purchasing material for the James P. Adams Library.
Copyright : What You Need to Know
- Last Updated Feb 4, 2013
Provides copyright information and educational resources for the Rhode Island College community
- Last Updated Feb 4, 2013
Provides copyright information and educational resources for the Rhode Island College community
Counseling and Educational Psychology CEP 531
- Last Updated Apr 25, 2013
Human Development across the Cultures.
- Last Updated Apr 25, 2013
Human Development across the Cultures.
Course Reserves
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
This LibGuide will help students and faculty access Course Reserve services and materials.
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
This LibGuide will help students and faculty access Course Reserve services and materials.
Critical Thinking
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Defines critical thinking with an awareness of the General Education requirements at Rhode Island College, and puts this thinking in the context of the history of Criticism in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Defines critical thinking with an awareness of the General Education requirements at Rhode Island College, and puts this thinking in the context of the history of Criticism in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Cuban Missile Crisis 1962
- Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
Fifty years ago, the United States and Russia came close to starting a nuclear war when the Soviet Union built a missile site in Cuba.
- Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
Fifty years ago, the United States and Russia came close to starting a nuclear war when the Soviet Union built a missile site in Cuba.
Cultural Competence
- Last Updated Oct 10, 2012
Resources on cultural competence for professionals in health, education, and human services.
- Last Updated Oct 10, 2012
Resources on cultural competence for professionals in health, education, and human services.
D
Decoration and Ornament
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
A selected bibliography of ornamental and decorative history, theory, and practice in the modern age.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
A selected bibliography of ornamental and decorative history, theory, and practice in the modern age.
Democracy
- Last Updated Oct 22, 2012
Resources on civic engagement, civil rights, elections, freedom of the press, and other democratic institutions
- Last Updated Oct 22, 2012
Resources on civic engagement, civil rights, elections, freedom of the press, and other democratic institutions
Department of Anthropology
- Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
An overview of the discipline and the department at Rhode Island College.
- Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
An overview of the discipline and the department at Rhode Island College.
Developmental Disabilities
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
Resources on developmental disabilities for students and professionals in education, health, and human services.
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
Resources on developmental disabilities for students and professionals in education, health, and human services.
Dialogue on Diversity 2012: Migration and Citizenship in the United States, 1865 -1930
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
The 2012 Dialogue on Diversity Lecture by Amritjit Singh, "Migration and Citizenship: African American and Asian American Stories" will examine our understanding of "citizenship" and "race".
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
The 2012 Dialogue on Diversity Lecture by Amritjit Singh, "Migration and Citizenship: African American and Asian American Stories" will examine our understanding of "citizenship" and "race".
Disasters - Natural and Man-Made
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
As the earth continues to experience disastrous events, this guide will provide access to information from the library collections and the web, including links to major news sources and relief efforts.
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
As the earth continues to experience disastrous events, this guide will provide access to information from the library collections and the web, including links to major news sources and relief efforts.
Don't Ask, Don't Tell
- Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
With the repeal of "Don't Ask, Don't Tell, Don't Pursue, Don't Harass", gay Americans will no longer be prohibited from military service due to their sexual orientation.
- Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
With the repeal of "Don't Ask, Don't Tell, Don't Pursue, Don't Harass", gay Americans will no longer be prohibited from military service due to their sexual orientation.
DVD Collection at RIC
- Last Updated Apr 27, 2013
A list of the DVDs in Adams Library, Rhode Island College.
- Last Updated Apr 27, 2013
A list of the DVDs in Adams Library, Rhode Island College.
E
Earth Day & Green Living
- Last Updated Dec 12, 2012
Earth Day is celebrated around the world each year on April 22nd . Cities worldwide have Earth Day festivals and activities to encourage conservation and protection of the environment.
- Last Updated Dec 12, 2012
Earth Day is celebrated around the world each year on April 22nd . Cities worldwide have Earth Day festivals and activities to encourage conservation and protection of the environment.
eBooks & eReaders
- Last Updated Nov 12, 2012
Explains how to download free eBooks from the Rhode Island College Library and the RI Public Library websites.
- Last Updated Nov 12, 2012
Explains how to download free eBooks from the Rhode Island College Library and the RI Public Library websites.
Education
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources of information in the field of Education which are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources of information in the field of Education which are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web.
ELED 400: Curriculum, Assessment & Instructional Technologies
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
This is a proposal for a new ELED course
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
This is a proposal for a new ELED course
Emancipation Proclamation
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
On January 1, 1863, President Abraham Lincoln issued an order to the Executive Branch proclaiming all those enslaved in Confederate territory to be forever free.
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
On January 1, 1863, President Abraham Lincoln issued an order to the Executive Branch proclaiming all those enslaved in Confederate territory to be forever free.
English
- Last Updated Dec 4, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources of information in the field of English which are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web.
- Last Updated Dec 4, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources of information in the field of English which are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web.
English 202 - Literary Theory (Prof. Shonkwiler)
- Last Updated Mar 31, 2013
Selection of information sources in literary criticism, emphasizing theorists and theoretical schools of criticism
- Last Updated Mar 31, 2013
Selection of information sources in literary criticism, emphasizing theorists and theoretical schools of criticism
English 230 - Business Writing (Shonkwiler)
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide presents a very basic selection of information sources, many of which are made available through Adams Library, that may be useful for finding background data and supporting evidence.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide presents a very basic selection of information sources, many of which are made available through Adams Library, that may be useful for finding background data and supporting evidence.
Evaluating Information
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
How to evaluate information in print and from the Internet; what are scholarly and popular sources; what are primary and secondary sources.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
How to evaluate information in print and from the Internet; what are scholarly and popular sources; what are primary and secondary sources.
F
Fast Food Nation: the Dark Side of the All-American Meal
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Library materials and web resources related to the issues discussed in the 2010 RIC Open Books--Open Minds common book: Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Library materials and web resources related to the issues discussed in the 2010 RIC Open Books--Open Minds common book: Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser.
FILM 219 - Methods of Film Analysis
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This course emphasizes the reading and writing of film criticism. This guide focuses on tools and techniques that aid your discovery and incorporation of the literature of film criticism, both popular and scholarly, into your work for this course.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This course emphasizes the reading and writing of film criticism. This guide focuses on tools and techniques that aid your discovery and incorporation of the literature of film criticism, both popular and scholarly, into your work for this course.
FILM 220 - History of Film I
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Motion pictures from their earliest manifestations to mid-20th century, as well as the motion picture industry, are the focus of this selection of resources
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Motion pictures from their earliest manifestations to mid-20th century, as well as the motion picture industry, are the focus of this selection of resources
Film Studies
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
An overview of the Film Studies Program at Rhode Island College
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
An overview of the Film Studies Program at Rhode Island College
Foundations of Psychological Research (Spring 2013)
- Last Updated Feb 4, 2013
Psych 221 Professor Marta Laupa
- Last Updated Feb 4, 2013
Psych 221 Professor Marta Laupa
Free Public Library eBooks & Audiobooks for iPads
- Last Updated May 6, 2013
Explains how to download free public library eBooks and audiobooks to an iPad using the Overdrive Media Console app.
- Last Updated May 6, 2013
Explains how to download free public library eBooks and audiobooks to an iPad using the Overdrive Media Console app.
Friends of Adams Library
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
Information about the Friends of Adams Library including upcoming meetings and events.
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
Information about the Friends of Adams Library including upcoming meetings and events.
FYS 100 - Mickey Mouse Monopoly (Prof. Zornado)
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2013
A selective resource guide to assist your research into Disney films, children's culture, and the Disneyfication of popular culture
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2013
A selective resource guide to assist your research into Disney films, children's culture, and the Disneyfication of popular culture
FYS 100 - Savage Desire: Cross Cultural Attraction in Colonial Contexts (Prof. Jalalzai)
- Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
Key starting points for examining the themes of this seminar: colonial/native contact & intercultural attraction, including the concept of miscegenation
- Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
Key starting points for examining the themes of this seminar: colonial/native contact & intercultural attraction, including the concept of miscegenation
FYS 100 - Snooki for President: Politics of Reality TV (Prof. Brophy-Baermann)
- Last Updated Nov 15, 2012
- Last Updated Nov 15, 2012
FYS 100 - The Gift of Gab (Prof. Goodwin-Gomez)
- Last Updated Mar 21, 2013
Selected sources to help with research into ideas related to the theme of this course
- Last Updated Mar 21, 2013
Selected sources to help with research into ideas related to the theme of this course
FYS 100-25 Microfinance and Women’s Empowerment
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
This course will discuss the importance of women’s position in terms of family, society, culture, and politics in designing the microfinance programs targeting the poor women.
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
This course will discuss the importance of women’s position in terms of family, society, culture, and politics in designing the microfinance programs targeting the poor women.
G
Gay-Friendly Picture Books for Young Children
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
This reserve collection fwas created by Professor Elizabeth H. Rowell to assure that GLT-friendly children's books would always be a part of the James P. Adams Library collection. It includes books about families with Gay, Lesbian and Transgender members
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
This reserve collection fwas created by Professor Elizabeth H. Rowell to assure that GLT-friendly children's books would always be a part of the James P. Adams Library collection. It includes books about families with Gay, Lesbian and Transgender members
Gen Ed 264 Multicultural Views: Same-Sex Orientation and Transsexuality
- Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
Multicultural views re: sexual orientation
- Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
Multicultural views re: sexual orientation
Giving to the Library
- Last Updated Apr 29, 2013
The James P. Adams Library is dedicated to providing students and faculty with the information and services necessary to support instruction and learning at Rhode Island College. Your gifts will help to support this mission.
- Last Updated Apr 29, 2013
The James P. Adams Library is dedicated to providing students and faculty with the information and services necessary to support instruction and learning at Rhode Island College. Your gifts will help to support this mission.
Google Like a Pro
- Last Updated Oct 27, 2012
Tips and tricks for using Google, Google Scholar and Google Books
- Last Updated Oct 27, 2012
Tips and tricks for using Google, Google Scholar and Google Books
Guantanamo Bay Detention Center
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
For 10 years, since February 2002, the Guantanamo Bay Naval Base in Cuba has housed prisoners classified as "enemy combatants" in the War on Terrorism. This guide will serve as a starting point for research on this topic.
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
For 10 years, since February 2002, the Guantanamo Bay Naval Base in Cuba has housed prisoners classified as "enemy combatants" in the War on Terrorism. This guide will serve as a starting point for research on this topic.
H
Health Information Resources for Coping with Traumatic Events
- Last Updated Dec 26, 2012
A brief listing of federal and national agencies with resources to help during traumatic events like mass shootings, natural disasters, etc.
- Last Updated Dec 26, 2012
A brief listing of federal and national agencies with resources to help during traumatic events like mass shootings, natural disasters, etc.
Henry Barnard School Library
- Last Updated Apr 11, 2013
Welcome to the Henry Barnard School library! We are a laboratory school located on the campus of Rhode Island College. Here you will find our book catalog, useful links to other catalogs and web pages, and lots of fun and useful stuff.
- Last Updated Apr 11, 2013
Welcome to the Henry Barnard School library! We are a laboratory school located on the campus of Rhode Island College. Here you will find our book catalog, useful links to other catalogs and web pages, and lots of fun and useful stuff.
Historical African American Newspapers Available Online
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
A guide to African American Newspapers
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
A guide to African American Newspapers
History 200 (Dufour) - The 1960s - Primary Source Research
- Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Tools and strategy for locating primary sources on topics related to the United States in the 1960s
- Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Tools and strategy for locating primary sources on topics related to the United States in the 1960s
History 200 (Schneider) - The Great War
- Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
Tools and strategies for finding resources on the Great War
- Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
Tools and strategies for finding resources on the Great War
History 200 (Schuster) - The Great Depression & The New Deal - Primary Source Research
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
History 263 (GenEd Core 4) - Christianity in Global Perspective
- Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
An exploration of Christianity from origins to the present emphasizing the interaction of religion and society, culture and institutions during a 2,000-year expansion from the Mideast through Western civilizations to cultures around the globe.
- Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
An exploration of Christianity from origins to the present emphasizing the interaction of religion and society, culture and institutions during a 2,000-year expansion from the Mideast through Western civilizations to cultures around the globe.
History 305 - The Age of the Renaissance
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Core Library resources on the Renaissance Period
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Core Library resources on the Renaissance Period
History 361 - Whose New World Order? The West and the Muslim World 1945-2005
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
The Seminar in History builds on students experience in History 200, explores definition of historical problems and research & writing of a substantial paper. Prof. Thomas's theme focuses on the relationships between Muslim states/societies & "The West."
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
The Seminar in History builds on students experience in History 200, explores definition of historical problems and research & writing of a substantial paper. Prof. Thomas's theme focuses on the relationships between Muslim states/societies & "The West."
Honors Program
- Last Updated Oct 28, 2012
Culture of Critical Inquiry -- Principles, Processes and Products
- Last Updated Oct 28, 2012
Culture of Critical Inquiry -- Principles, Processes and Products
Horror, Hallucination, Hysteria
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
The 2011 topic for Engaging Conversations
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
The 2011 topic for Engaging Conversations
How to Find Information about a Company
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
How to find information about companies using Adams Library resources
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
How to find information about companies using Adams Library resources
Huckleberry Finn and the "N Word"
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
A revised version of Mark Twain's Huckleberry Finn, is being published in 2011 in which the words "Nigger" and "Injun" are replaced with "slave" and "Indian". Should works of literature be edited if their language is no longer acceptable?
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
A revised version of Mark Twain's Huckleberry Finn, is being published in 2011 in which the words "Nigger" and "Injun" are replaced with "slave" and "Indian". Should works of literature be edited if their language is no longer acceptable?
I
Intellectual Property and SOPA
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide will provide users with the resources to learn about intellectual property rights and new developments in copyright, particularly relating to electronic resources.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide will provide users with the resources to learn about intellectual property rights and new developments in copyright, particularly relating to electronic resources.
Iraq War
- Last Updated May 9, 2013
The War in Iraq began on March 20, 2003 and officially ended on December 15, 2011. This guide will serve as a starting place for research on the Iraq War.
- Last Updated May 9, 2013
The War in Iraq began on March 20, 2003 and officially ended on December 15, 2011. This guide will serve as a starting place for research on the Iraq War.
Italian Americans
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide was created in commemoration of Italian American History Month, to accompany a library exhibit honoring the contributions of the late Carmela E. Santoro, professor of History and Secondary Education at Rhode Island College
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide was created in commemoration of Italian American History Month, to accompany a library exhibit honoring the contributions of the late Carmela E. Santoro, professor of History and Secondary Education at Rhode Island College
J
J.D. Salinger
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
In January, 2010, American author J.D. Salinger passed away at the age of 91. This guide provides information about his life and work, with access to resources available both in the library and online.
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
In January, 2010, American author J.D. Salinger passed away at the age of 91. This guide provides information about his life and work, with access to resources available both in the library and online.
Justice Studies
- Last Updated Oct 10, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources in Justice Studies which are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web
- Last Updated Oct 10, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources in Justice Studies which are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web
K
Katrina 5 Years Later
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
Hurricane Katrina hit the Gulf Coast on August 29, 2005 as a Category 5 Storm, causing over 1,800 deaths and property damage estimated at $81 billion. It was the costliest natural disaster, and one of the five deadliest hurricanes, in U.S. history.
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
Hurricane Katrina hit the Gulf Coast on August 29, 2005 as a Category 5 Storm, causing over 1,800 deaths and property damage estimated at $81 billion. It was the costliest natural disaster, and one of the five deadliest hurricanes, in U.S. history.
L
LGBTQ Materials for Children and Young Adults
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Adams Library's collections contain many gay-friendly materials suitable for children, young adults, and all age levels.
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Adams Library's collections contain many gay-friendly materials suitable for children, young adults, and all age levels.
LibGuides
- Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
Links and examples of LibGuides for Rhode Island College faculty
- Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
Links and examples of LibGuides for Rhode Island College faculty
Library Lecture Series 2008 - 2009
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
The Library Lecture Series was conceived by Library Director Hedi BenAicha in Fall, 2008, and has continued to bring bright minds and interesting topics to the college community.
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
The Library Lecture Series was conceived by Library Director Hedi BenAicha in Fall, 2008, and has continued to bring bright minds and interesting topics to the college community.
Library Lecture Series 2010 - 2011
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
The Library Lecture Series was conceived by Library Director Hedi BenAicha in Fall, 2008, and has continued to bring bright minds and interesting topics to the college community.
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
The Library Lecture Series was conceived by Library Director Hedi BenAicha in Fall, 2008, and has continued to bring bright minds and interesting topics to the college community.
Library Poetry Events
- Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
Information on events and contests in celebration of National Poetry Month
- Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
Information on events and contests in celebration of National Poetry Month
Library Research
- Last Updated Nov 12, 2012
Introduction to Library Research for the Blackboard Faculty Toolbox
- Last Updated Nov 12, 2012
Introduction to Library Research for the Blackboard Faculty Toolbox
Library Technical Services Web Resources
- Last Updated Jan 8, 2013
Links to useful sources for Library staff.
- Last Updated Jan 8, 2013
Links to useful sources for Library staff.
M
Margaret Taylor Burroughs
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
A collection of prints donated by artist and educator Margaret Taylor Burroughs is installed on the 4th floor of Adams Library. The collection includes works by Dr. Burroughs and two of her contemporaries
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
A collection of prints donated by artist and educator Margaret Taylor Burroughs is installed on the 4th floor of Adams Library. The collection includes works by Dr. Burroughs and two of her contemporaries
Marriage Equality - Gay Marriage
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Should the right to marry be restricted to couples consisting of "one man, one woman"? Should the federal government control what individual states decide on this issue? This guide will serve as a starting point for research on this topic.
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Should the right to marry be restricted to couples consisting of "one man, one woman"? Should the federal government control what individual states decide on this issue? This guide will serve as a starting point for research on this topic.
Marxist Criminology
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide will direct students to resources on Marxist criminology.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide will direct students to resources on Marxist criminology.
May Day - International Workers' Day
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
International Workers' Day, honoring the international labor movement, is celebrated on May 1st. This guide will serve as a starting point for research on this topic.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
International Workers' Day, honoring the international labor movement, is celebrated on May 1st. This guide will serve as a starting point for research on this topic.
Medical Marijuana
- Last Updated May 9, 2013
18 of the 50 states have legalized the medical use of marijuana, but according to federal law, marijuana is an illegal substance with no legitimate medical use. This guide will provide a starting point for research on all aspects of this issue.
- Last Updated May 9, 2013
18 of the 50 states have legalized the medical use of marijuana, but according to federal law, marijuana is an illegal substance with no legitimate medical use. This guide will provide a starting point for research on all aspects of this issue.
MGT 341: Business, Government, & Society
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
This is an upper level course in Business, Government, and Society. The focus is on dynamic social, legal, political, economic, and ecological issues that require socially responsible behavior on the part of individuals and organizations
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
This is an upper level course in Business, Government, and Society. The focus is on dynamic social, legal, political, economic, and ecological issues that require socially responsible behavior on the part of individuals and organizations
N
National Coming Out Day
- Last Updated Feb 16, 2013
National Coming Out Day, October 11th, is an international event which gives gay, lesbian and bisexual people the opportunity to "come out" to others about their sexuality.
- Last Updated Feb 16, 2013
National Coming Out Day, October 11th, is an international event which gives gay, lesbian and bisexual people the opportunity to "come out" to others about their sexuality.
National Poetry Month
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
April is National Poetry Month, a month-long celebration designed to increase the visibility of poetry and poets in our culture.
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
April is National Poetry Month, a month-long celebration designed to increase the visibility of poetry and poets in our culture.
New Books at RIC
- Last Updated Dec 11, 2012
A list of books acquired during the past two months or so in the James P. Adams Library of Rhode Island College. The list is sorted by call number.
- Last Updated Dec 11, 2012
A list of books acquired during the past two months or so in the James P. Adams Library of Rhode Island College. The list is sorted by call number.
Nineteenth Century Periodicals
- Last Updated Nov 28, 2012
A guide to 19th century periodicals available through Marist Library as well as online
- Last Updated Nov 28, 2012
A guide to 19th century periodicals available through Marist Library as well as online
Nursing 501
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
An introduction to library and other resources for graduate students in Nursing
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
An introduction to library and other resources for graduate students in Nursing
O
Occupy Wall Street
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
Occupy Wall Street is an ongoing series of demonstrations against social and economic inequality, corporate greed, and the influence of corporate money and lobbyists on government. This guide will provide a starting point for research on this topic.
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
Occupy Wall Street is an ongoing series of demonstrations against social and economic inequality, corporate greed, and the influence of corporate money and lobbyists on government. This guide will provide a starting point for research on this topic.
Online Resources A-Z
- Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
This guide contains a list of major electronic resources organized by title.
- Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
This guide contains a list of major electronic resources organized by title.
Online Resources by Subject
- Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
This guide contains a list of electronic resources organized by subject.
- Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
This guide contains a list of electronic resources organized by subject.
Open Books--Open Minds Summer Reading List 2013
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
One of these books will become the 2014/2015 Open Books--Open Minds common book. Read one and share your comments.
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
One of these books will become the 2014/2015 Open Books--Open Minds common book. Read one and share your comments.
Over the Top: Graphic Novels and DVDs
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
An exhibition of the graphic novels and their related DVDs in the James P. Adams Library collection. August 1-August 31, 2009.
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
An exhibition of the graphic novels and their related DVDs in the James P. Adams Library collection. August 1-August 31, 2009.
P
Philosophy
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources of information in the field of Philosophy which are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources of information in the field of Philosophy which are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web.
Philosophy 261 - Ethical Issues in Health Care
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Critical inquiry into ethical issues in health care. Moral theories from both Western and non-Western traditions are discussed and applied to issues in health care.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Critical inquiry into ethical issues in health care. Moral theories from both Western and non-Western traditions are discussed and applied to issues in health care.
PhilPapers and finding RIC Library e-journals and books
- Last Updated Oct 28, 2012
Register as a RIC student or faculty in PhilPapers and link to RIC books and journals "At my Library."
- Last Updated Oct 28, 2012
Register as a RIC student or faculty in PhilPapers and link to RIC books and journals "At my Library."
Photocopying & Scanning in the Library
- Last Updated Dec 6, 2012
This guide will briefly explain how to photocopy and scan in the James P. Adams Library
- Last Updated Dec 6, 2012
This guide will briefly explain how to photocopy and scan in the James P. Adams Library
Political Opinion Press
- Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
A selection of periodicals whose principal focus is political opinion and analysis: some from the right, left, and center, as well as a few that publish a spectrum of opinion.
- Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
A selection of periodicals whose principal focus is political opinion and analysis: some from the right, left, and center, as well as a few that publish a spectrum of opinion.
Political Science
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources of information in the field of Political Science which are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources of information in the field of Political Science which are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web
Professional Ethics
- Last Updated May 21, 2013
A collection of codes and statements of professional ethics related to fields taught at Rhode Island College.
- Last Updated May 21, 2013
A collection of codes and statements of professional ethics related to fields taught at Rhode Island College.
Promising Practices
- Last Updated Oct 5, 2012
The 15th Annual Promising Practices Multicultural Conference Theme is Youth Development
- Last Updated Oct 5, 2012
The 15th Annual Promising Practices Multicultural Conference Theme is Youth Development
PSYC 221 - Foundations (Prof. Laupa)
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Some strategies for creating effective searches in PsycINFO
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Some strategies for creating effective searches in PsycINFO
Psychology
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources of information in the field of Psychology that are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources of information in the field of Psychology that are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web.
Pym: A Novel by Mat Johnson
- Last Updated May 17, 2013
The RIC Open Books--Open Minds common book for 2013/2014
- Last Updated May 17, 2013
The RIC Open Books--Open Minds common book for 2013/2014
R
Rachel Carson's Silent Spring
- Last Updated Dec 12, 2012
Fifty years ago, in September, 1963, Rachel Carson's book Silent Spring was published, effectively changing the world's perception of our environment. This guide will serve as a starting point for research on this topic.
- Last Updated Dec 12, 2012
Fifty years ago, in September, 1963, Rachel Carson's book Silent Spring was published, effectively changing the world's perception of our environment. This guide will serve as a starting point for research on this topic.
Ratification of the U.S. Constitution
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Constitution Day -- September 17, 2010: a display of library materials and web resources on ratification of the Constitution
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Constitution Day -- September 17, 2010: a display of library materials and web resources on ratification of the Constitution
Reference Student Training Manual 1
- Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
Describes duties and tasks for Student Assistants at the Reference Desk.
- Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
Describes duties and tasks for Student Assistants at the Reference Desk.
Reference Student Training Manual 2
- Last Updated Aug 19, 2011
Guide for Student Assistants on how to answer questions at the Reference Desk.
- Last Updated Aug 19, 2011
Guide for Student Assistants on how to answer questions at the Reference Desk.
Reserving Space in the Library/Using EMS
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
Rhode Island College rooms are reserved via the Event Management System (EMS). This how-to guide walks you through navigating EMS, provides the basics of requesting space in the library and even some helpful hints on planning events.
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
Rhode Island College rooms are reserved via the Event Management System (EMS). This how-to guide walks you through navigating EMS, provides the basics of requesting space in the library and even some helpful hints on planning events.
Rhode Island College Campus Architecture and Named Places
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
An architectural and historical overview of the development of Rhode Island College's Mount Pleasant Campus, 1956-present.
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
An architectural and historical overview of the development of Rhode Island College's Mount Pleasant Campus, 1956-present.
Rhode Island's Statewide Library Resources
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
Information resources and electronic databases available through Rhode Island's public libraries and funded by the state.
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
Information resources and electronic databases available through Rhode Island's public libraries and funded by the state.
Richard Seymour's "OBAMA'S 'WAR ON TERROR' AT HOME AND ABROAD"
- Last Updated Apr 7, 2013
While the White House no longer uses the phrase "War on Terror", many Bush-era features remain. Join Richard Seymour for a discussion on militarism, targeted assassinations, indefinite detention, and suppression of dissent under the Obama administration.
- Last Updated Apr 7, 2013
While the White House no longer uses the phrase "War on Terror", many Bush-era features remain. Join Richard Seymour for a discussion on militarism, targeted assassinations, indefinite detention, and suppression of dissent under the Obama administration.
S
School of Management
- Last Updated Feb 1, 2013
James P. Adams Library Online Resources in Business & Technology.
- Last Updated Feb 1, 2013
James P. Adams Library Online Resources in Business & Technology.
SciFinder Scholar
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Instructions for RIC faculty, staff and students who use SciFinder Scholar.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Instructions for RIC faculty, staff and students who use SciFinder Scholar.
SED 406 - Finding Lesson Plans
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Strategies & tools for locating lesson plans at the secondary level.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Strategies & tools for locating lesson plans at the secondary level.
September 11th 2001 Terrorist Attacks 10th Anniversary
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
The terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 changed life in the United States in many ways. This guide provides a starting point for research about the attacks and their ongoing effect on life in America.
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
The terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 changed life in the United States in many ways. This guide provides a starting point for research about the attacks and their ongoing effect on life in America.
Sexual Politics 2012
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Should politics have a role in women's health care? Republican-controlled legislatures continue to push for restrictions on access to birth control and abortions, limiting women's reproductive rights. This guide provides a starting point for research.
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Should politics have a role in women's health care? Republican-controlled legislatures continue to push for restrictions on access to birth control and abortions, limiting women's reproductive rights. This guide provides a starting point for research.
Social Entrepreneurship
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Social Entrepreneurship addresses social problems by building businesses that further social and environmental goals. This guide will provide a starting point for research on this topic.
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Social Entrepreneurship addresses social problems by building businesses that further social and environmental goals. This guide will provide a starting point for research on this topic.
Social Work
- Last Updated Feb 16, 2013
This guide presents a selection of resources for students and practitioners in Social Work.
- Last Updated Feb 16, 2013
This guide presents a selection of resources for students and practitioners in Social Work.
Social Work 302
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Resources selected for B.S.W. students in SW302: Social Work Evaluation and Research.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Resources selected for B.S.W. students in SW302: Social Work Evaluation and Research.
Sociology
- Last Updated Nov 28, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources of information in the field of Sociology which are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web.
- Last Updated Nov 28, 2012
This guide presents a selection of basic sources of information in the field of Sociology which are available at Adams Library or accessible on the Web.
Station Nighclub Fire
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
The February 20, 2003 fire at The Station in West Warwick, RI killed 100 people who had come to hear the band Great White, and injured 200. The fire became the fourth deadliest nightclub fire in the nation's history.
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
The February 20, 2003 fire at The Station in West Warwick, RI killed 100 people who had come to hear the band Great White, and injured 200. The fire became the fourth deadliest nightclub fire in the nation's history.
Stonewall Riots 40th Anniversary
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
A guide to the Stonewall Riots of 1969, including library resources on the history of the Gay Rights Movement.
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
A guide to the Stonewall Riots of 1969, including library resources on the history of the Gay Rights Movement.
Streaming Media Collections
- Last Updated Nov 30, 2012
Current list of James P. Adams Library Streaming Media Online Resources
- Last Updated Nov 30, 2012
Current list of James P. Adams Library Streaming Media Online Resources
Svetlana N. Sidorkina Art Exhibit in Adams Library
- Last Updated Oct 11, 2012
An installation of prints, ceramic sculptures, fiber, and collage telling the story of the artists' ancestors and “recall[ing] the animalistic visions of humans, pushed into our reality.”
- Last Updated Oct 11, 2012
An installation of prints, ceramic sculptures, fiber, and collage telling the story of the artists' ancestors and “recall[ing] the animalistic visions of humans, pushed into our reality.”
T
Teaching Social Studies in the Elementary School
- Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
Elementary Education 436 & 528
- Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
Elementary Education 436 & 528
The Global Classroom
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Karen King, AFT Every Day Hero presents, "The Global Classroom: Service Learning in the Elementary Classroom", an inspiring RIC Diversity Week event for teachers, teacher candidates, and teacher education faculty.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Karen King, AFT Every Day Hero presents, "The Global Classroom: Service Learning in the Elementary Classroom", an inspiring RIC Diversity Week event for teachers, teacher candidates, and teacher education faculty.
The Hobbit
- Last Updated Oct 15, 2012
J.R.R. Tolkien's "The Hobbit" was published 75 years ago, in September, 1937. It has since sold 100 million copies and been translated into almost fifty languages.
- Last Updated Oct 15, 2012
J.R.R. Tolkien's "The Hobbit" was published 75 years ago, in September, 1937. It has since sold 100 million copies and been translated into almost fifty languages.
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
- Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
The RIC Open Books--Open Minds common book for 2012/2013
- Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
The RIC Open Books--Open Minds common book for 2012/2013
The March on Washington, 1963
- Last Updated Mar 1, 2013
On August 28, 1963, nearly 300,000 people stood on the mall in Washington, DC in one of the greatest civil rights protests in American history. The march is widely credited with helping to pass the Civil Rights Act (1964) and the Voting Rights Act (1965)
- Last Updated Mar 1, 2013
On August 28, 1963, nearly 300,000 people stood on the mall in Washington, DC in one of the greatest civil rights protests in American history. The march is widely credited with helping to pass the Civil Rights Act (1964) and the Voting Rights Act (1965)
The Peace Corps
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
The Peace Corps was established on March 1, 1961 by President John F. Kennedy and authorized by Congress on September 22, 1961. Since 1961, over 200,000 Americans have joined the Peace Corps and have served in 139 countries.
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
The Peace Corps was established on March 1, 1961 by President John F. Kennedy and authorized by Congress on September 22, 1961. Since 1961, over 200,000 Americans have joined the Peace Corps and have served in 139 countries.
The Pentagon Papers
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Forty years ago, in 1971, Daniel Ellsberg leaked a secret Pentagon study of the Vietnam War to the New York Times. The government brought an injunction against the Times, and Ellsberg was indicted on charges of stealing and holding secret documents.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Forty years ago, in 1971, Daniel Ellsberg leaked a secret Pentagon study of the Vietnam War to the New York Times. The government brought an injunction against the Times, and Ellsberg was indicted on charges of stealing and holding secret documents.
Tunisia's Revolution
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
As the people of Tunisia attempt to restore democracy in their country, this guide will provide a starting point for understanding the country's history and recent events.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
As the people of Tunisia attempt to restore democracy in their country, this guide will provide a starting point for understanding the country's history and recent events.
U
U.S. Government Information Resources
- Last Updated Nov 26, 2012
Links to a rich array of government information websites, databases, agencies & departments and core public documents.
- Last Updated Nov 26, 2012
Links to a rich array of government information websites, databases, agencies & departments and core public documents.
U.S. Immigration Law and Citizenship
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide provides a starting point for research on United States immigration law, and on the recent legislation in several states intending to enact and enforce their own immigration laws.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide provides a starting point for research on United States immigration law, and on the recent legislation in several states intending to enact and enforce their own immigration laws.
Upgrading to CampusGuides / LibGuides CMS
- Last Updated Nov 8, 2012
This is a training guide for the November 2012 CampusGuides / LibGuides CMS Workshop. It is set to private.
- Last Updated Nov 8, 2012
This is a training guide for the November 2012 CampusGuides / LibGuides CMS Workshop. It is set to private.
V
Veterans Day
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
In honor of United States Military Veterans, this guide will provide a starting point for research about Veterans Day and other information about and for Veterans.
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
In honor of United States Military Veterans, this guide will provide a starting point for research about Veterans Day and other information about and for Veterans.
W
When the Emperor Was Divine by Julie Otsuka
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
The RIC Open Books--Open Minds common book for 2011/2012.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
The RIC Open Books--Open Minds common book for 2011/2012.
WikiLeaks
- Last Updated Apr 11, 2013
WikiLeaks is an international non-profit organization that publishes submissions of private, secret, and classified media from anonymous news sources and news leaks.
- Last Updated Apr 11, 2013
WikiLeaks is an international non-profit organization that publishes submissions of private, secret, and classified media from anonymous news sources and news leaks.
Wikipedia
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide provides an introduction to Wikipedia and the resources available through it. It provides citation information.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide provides an introduction to Wikipedia and the resources available through it. It provides citation information.
Woman Suffrage in the United States
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Votes for Women! a 90th Anniversary Celebration, 1920-2010
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Votes for Women! a 90th Anniversary Celebration, 1920-2010
Women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
Celebrating the contributions of women in STEM fields at Rhode Island College and beyond: National Women's History Month, March 2013.
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
Celebrating the contributions of women in STEM fields at Rhode Island College and beyond: National Women's History Month, March 2013.
Women's Education -- Women's Empowerment
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Women's History Month -- March 2012
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Women's History Month -- March 2012
World AIDS Day
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
World AIDS Day is celebrated on December 1st each year to raise awareness of the AIDS pandemic which has killed more than 25,000 people worldwide since 1981.
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2013
World AIDS Day is celebrated on December 1st each year to raise awareness of the AIDS pandemic which has killed more than 25,000 people worldwide since 1981.
Worldviews on Children, Youth and Education Lecture Series
- Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
Lecture series providing national and international perspectives on youth, children, and education.
- Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
Lecture series providing national and international perspectives on youth, children, and education.
Writing a Research Paper
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Guide to sources to help in writing a research paper.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Guide to sources to help in writing a research paper.
Writing Women Back Into History
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Women's History Month, March 2010: the 30th anniversary of the National Women's History Project
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Women's History Month, March 2010: the 30th anniversary of the National Women's History Project
#
Animal Rights and Vegetarianism
- Last Updated May 9, 2013
Do animals have rights? Are animals sentient beings deserving of our respect and protection? Is it morally wrong to use them for food or research? Is speciesism the equivalent of racism or sexism? This guide provides resources to discuss these ideas.
- Last Updated May 9, 2013
Do animals have rights? Are animals sentient beings deserving of our respect and protection? Is it morally wrong to use them for food or research? Is speciesism the equivalent of racism or sexism? This guide provides resources to discuss these ideas.
Featured Author |
Contact Info mgarofalo@ric.edu 401-456-8877 Horace Mann 068 600 Mount Pleasant Avenue Providence, RI 02908 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

