Skip to main content
Banner Image

Banned Books Week: Banned Books Week

Banned Books Week, September 21 to 27, 2014

Banned Books Week

First observed in 1982, Banned Books Week reminds Americans not to take their democratic freedom to read for granted. The event is sponsored by the American Booksellers Association, the American Booksellers Foundation for Free Expression, the American Library Association, the Association of American Publishers, the American Society of Journalists and Authors, and the National Association of College Stores. It is endorsed by the Library of Congress Center for the Book.

Celebrate the Freedom to Read With CBLDF's New Banned Books Week Handbook!

Banned Books Week Handbook

Comic Book Legal Defense Fund is proud to release its first-ever Banned Books Week Handbook! Boasting a cover by Jeff Smith, whose Bone series is one of America’s most frequently challenged books, the CBLDF Banned Books Week Handbook is a free resource that gives you the scoop about what comics are banned, how to report and fight censorship, and how to make a celebration of Banned Books Week in your community! The CBLDF Banned Books Week Handbook premieres today at the ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas.

This year’s Banned Books Week, which runs September 21 – 27, will have a national focus on comics and graphic novels. CBLDF’s Banned Books Week Handbook is an essential tool to assist librarians, retailers, and educators in planning their Banned Books Week celebrations, while also being a vital reference to help readers everywhere fight censorship. The handbook is currently available as a free download on CBLDF.org. Bundles of the printed handbook are also available from CBLDF.org, and in the July issue of Diamond Previews (JUL141050).

Banned Books Week On The Web

Banned Books Week: Celebrate the Freedom to Read Sept. 21 – 27, 2014

 

I read banned comics 

The national Banned Books Week planning committee, today announced that this year’s celebration of the freedom to read will emphasize a thematic focus on comics and graphic novels. This year’s Banned Books Week, Sept. 21 – 27, will shine a light on this still misunderstood form of storytelling and will celebrate the value of graphic novels to readers from all walks of life through the work performed by Banned Books Week sponsors and individual librarians, retailers and readers from all over the world.

“This year we spotlight graphic novels because, despite their serious literary merit and popularity as a genre, they are often subject to censorship,” said Judith Platt, chair of the Banned Books Week National Committee.

Celebrate the freedom to read! September 21−27, 2014

Follow Banned Books Week on Facebook, Flickr, Twitter, and YouTube.

 

Banned Books 2014: Authors on Censorship, RI ACLU Event

Banned Books 2014: Authors on Censorship

. 6:30 pm

“You don't have to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them.” -Ray Bradbury

Celebrate your freedom to read by joining the ACLU of RI, Weaver Library and Living Literature for a reading and discussion on censorship as part of this year's National Banned Books Week. On September 23, the ACLU of RI and the Weaver Library will host Living Literature's Authors on Censorship, Living Literature actors will perform a 25-minute dramatic reading of popular and award-winning authors' thoughts on the impact censorship has had on their own and others’ writings.

There will also be a short discussion about attempts to ban books in the past. 

Light refreshments will be served. This program is free and open to all.

James P. Adams Library  ·  Rhode Island College  ·  600 Mount Pleasant Ave, Providence, RI 02908